The fourth meeting of the Joint Ministerial Council between the Gibraltar and United Kingdom Governments took place this morning at the Cabinet Office in Whitehall.

The Gibraltar delegation was led by the Chief Minister Fabian Picardo and included the Deputy Chief Minister Dr Joseph Garcia, who is responsible for work related to Gibraltar's departure from the European Union, the Attorney General Michael Llamas, the Financial Secretary Albert Mena and U.K. Representative Dominique Searle.

The meeting was chaired by the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State in the Department for Exiting the EU Robin Walker MP and included Economic Secretary to the Treasury Stephen Barclay MP. There were officials present from the Cabinet Office, the Department for Exiting the European Union, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, the Home Office, the Treasury, DEFRA, the Department of Culture, Media and Sport and the Department of International Trade.

The meeting reviewed the positive progress that has been achieved by the working groups over the summer months on on-line gaming and financial services. It was also agreed to establish new groups on the border, the environment, trade and investment and transport.

There will now be detailed follow-up work with lead departments on the discussion papers which the U.K. published over the summer.